Press release
For immediate distribution

Louise Bessette and Aventa Ensemble

On Friday, May 19, 2006, at 8 pm, at the Phillip T. Young Recital Hall (University of Victoria, BC), pianist Louise Bessette will perform Envoi, a concerto for piano and fifteen instruments by Gilles Tremblay with the Aventa Ensemble, conducted by Bill Linwood. Written in 1982, thanks to the Canada Council for the Arts, the piece was commissioned and premiered by Claude Helffer and the Societe de musique contemporaine du Quebec in February 1983.

Louise Bessette will also perform two pieces for solo piano: Fragments (1997) by Serge Arcuri and Prelude VIII: Il giorno della mia morte (1998) by Silvio Palmieri; and we will also hear the Aventa Ensemble performing Alonetogetherall (1992) by Michel Gonneville, as well as Solstices (ou Les Jours et les saisons tournent) (1971) by Gilles Tremblay.

The Aventa New Music Society, under the artistic direction of Bill Lindwood, was founded in 2003 to fill a need in Victoria for a professional ensemble capable of performing a wide range of modern repertoire.

Friday, May 19, 2006 at 8:00 pm
Phillip T. Young Recital Hall
University of Victoria, Mac Laurin Building
3800 Finnerty Road, Victoria, BC
$15 / $12
Tickets: (250) 721-8480
Info: (250) 721-8559

- 30 -

Other releases:


En haut